Restoration of the East Windows
There are eight massive lancet windows which open into the historic sanctuary of the old Resurrection Reformed Church, four on each side. Dating from the renovations of 1860, these windows have survived the Civil War and a century and a half of weathering and other damage. Inspection of the windows on the east side of the building, which receives the most direct effect of the weather, revealed several loose panes and rotting of the sills and muntins. The restoration of these windows included the re-glazing of the displaced panes, the replacement of one pane which had been broken, and scraping and painting of the wooden parts of the windows. To further protect these integral parts of our historic building, an outer storm-window covering was added to each of the windows, carefully designed to align to the existing muntins in order to reduce the visual impact of the new outer windows.
Repainting the Belfry and Pediment
The last major project to be completed with our MHAA grant was the repainting of the most recognizable part of our building, the Queen-Anne styled belfry. Added to the church during renovations in 1896 and enclosing a 700-pound bell, the belfry is one of the most iconic images of Burkittsville's skyline and appears on the town seal and flag. Last painted during restoration of the church in 2000-2002, the wooden parts of the front pediment and the belfry were in need of fresh paint. This work was completed by the end of this summer following the scraping of old paint and application of a new coat.
We hope you will join us this fall and check out the finished results of over two years of work to continue the preservation of our historic home!
Jody Brumage is the Historian and Curator of South Mountain Heritage Society. Jody works with our exhibits, the interpretation of our historic site, and our programming. This blog features some of our events and news from the society as well as unique discoveries and research we come across while working in the museum.